Nigerian Army, Navy promote Senior Officers


The Nigerian Army and Navy have released the promotion of very senior officers to the ranks of Major Generals and Brigadier Generals for the Army and Commodores and Rear Admirals for the Navy.

A total of 122 senior officers of the Nigerian Army and 55 officers of the Nigerian Navy were elevated to higher ranks following the approval of the Army and Naval Councils.

A statement by the Director, Army Public Relations, Brigadier General Onyema Nwachukwu said the promotion to the ranks of Major Generals and Brigadier Generals is in recognition of their meritorious service to the nation.

In the promotion signed and released by the Military Secretary (Army), senior officers of the ranks of Brigadier General and Colonels were elevated to higher ranks with 52 Brigadier Generals promoted to the rank of Major General and 70 colonels elevated to the rank of Brigadier Generals.

Amongst those promoted to the rank of Major General are Brigadier Generals AA Ayanuga of the Department of Army Transformation and Innovation, EH Akpan of Theatre Command Operation HADIN KAI, NM Jega of the Defence Headquarters, JO Ugwuoke of the Department of Army Logistics, PAO Okoye of the Department of Army Operations, EF Oyinlola of the Department of Special Services and Programmes, AA Adekeye of 21 Special Armoured Brigade, AE Edet of Nigerian Army School of Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, AB Mohammed of Army Headquarters Operations Monitoring Team, and MT Usman of the Headquarters Guards Brigade.

Other beneficiaries include Brigadier Generals IM Abdullahi of Headquarters 35 Brigade, AO Agboola of the Department of Army Training, EE Emekah of Nigerian Defence Academy, HE Nzan of Department of Army Standards and Evaluation, LA Lebo of Department of Army Training, UT Otaru of Nigerian Army School of Supply and Transport and AU Obiwulu of 1 Base Workshop, amongst others.

Some of the colonels elevated to the rank of Brigadier General are, Colonels AO Ajagbe, JO Ogbobe, MG Hammawa, SS Bello, SOG Aremu, NG Mohammed, OI Odigie, CA Osuagwu, MO Eteng and ED Idima amongst others.

In a related development, the Navy Spokesperson, Commodore Adedotun Ayo- Vaughan, said that the Navy Board approved the promotions on 15th December, 2022.

He said that the breakdown showed that 25 Captains were elevated to Commodore while 30 Commodores were promoted to the rank of Rear Admiral. 

According to him, in an earlier approval, 72 Commanders were promoted to the rank of Captain. 

He noted that the newly promoted Rear Admirals are Garba Abubakar, Adewale Olanrewaju, Fatah Sanusi, Domnan Dangwel, Hamisu Sadiq, Olusanya Bankole, Noel  Madugu, Daupreye Matthew, Emmanuel Nmoyem, Clement Atebi, Oluwole Fadeyi, Julius Nwagu, Abdul-Rasheed Haruna, John Okeke, Olatunde Oludude, Sunday Atakpa, Abdul-Hamid Baba-Inna, Patrick Effah, Abubakar Mustapha, Chidozie Okehie, Olusegun Soyemi, Ebiobowei Zipele, James Okosun, Ibrahim Shehu, Fredrick Damtong, Chijoke Onyemaobi, Kasimu Bushi, Suleiman Abdullahi. 

Furthermore, Priston Efedue and Jamila Malafa were both promoted to retirement.

The newly promoted Commodores are Sola Adebayo, Stephen Ega, Mohammed Hassan, Hyacinth Nwaka, Ugochukwu Ajulu, Mohammed Alhassan, Benjamin Francis, Mohammed Manga, Adewale Odejobi, Humphrey Oriekezie, Tamuno-Kubie Senibo, Toritseju Vincent, Badamasi Yahuza, Kennedy Ozokoye, Igbadi Abechi, Abidemi Abu, Sylvester Earthaogwa, Salisu El-Hussein, Idouye

Ketebu, Ogochukwu Ogbologu, Adedotun Ogundiran, Enoch Sogbesan and Daniel Kumangari.

Meanhwhile, Lanre Ajibade and Chima Mpi were both promoted to retirement.

The Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Faruk Yahaya and Chief of the Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Awwal Gambo CFR, congratulated all the promoted officers and their families while charging them to remain focused, selfless and loyal in their service to the nation to justify the confidence and trust reposed in them by the Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari, the Nigerian Army and all Nigerians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *