Ondo Guber Primaries: 171,922 Delegates to Pick APC Flag Bearer

Hauwa Gidado, Abuja 


The governing All Progressives Congress, APC says over one hundred thousand delegates would elect the Party’s flag bearer for Saturday, 20, 2024 primaries in Southern, Nigeria.

National Organising Secretary of the party, Alhaji Muhammad Argungu stated this during the inauguration of Primary Election Committee and Appeal Committee at the Party’s headquarters in Abuja, Nigeria.

He said while the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC sent the Certified True Copy of 173, 181 membership register to the party, a revalidation done by the party brought the figure down to 171, 922.

APC constitution
He said; “All the 16 aspirants who purchased nomination and expression of interest forms had been vetted as provided for in the APC constitution.”

“The aspirants had consequently been screened by the party’s screening committee for the Ondo election.

“We have received a Certified True Copy CTC from INEC showing 173,181 membership while our revalidation came down to 171, 922.”

While inaugurating the Committees, the National Chairman of the Party, Abdullahi Ganduje said the members were selected based on their integrity and experience.

We have contacted relevant stakeholders including security agencies and they have assured of a peaceful environment,” Ganduje stated.

Doctrine of the party

Responding, Governor Ododo who was represented by his Deputy, Mr. Joel Salihu said the committee will abide by the principle and doctrine of the party in ensuring that members produce the best candidate.

Mr. Joel further said: “If there is any job not to be done, it must not be the one sent by Mr President and the National Chairman of the party and the party itself. Any work I am sent to do must be done“.

Heading the 7 member primary election committtee is  the Governor of Kogi State, Ahmed Ododo while former Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege will serve as the Secretary.

Other members are a former Oyo Deputy Governor, Iyiola Oladokun; Senator Lekan Mustapha, Adefunmilayo Tejuoso; Margaret Duru and Dr. Sani Danjuma.

Former Governor of Bauchi State, Mohammed Abubakar heads the 5 member primary Election Appeal Committee. Other members include Edo State lawmaker, Patrick Obahiagbo, Mr. Jamilu Isiyiaka Gwamna and Mr. Onyeka Okafor.

The Committee has been saddled with the responsibility to conduct a direct primary in all 18 local government areas of the State to pick the party’s flag bearer ahead of the November 2024 governorship.

Lateefah Ibrahim

Comments are closed.