President Tinubu Participates In Nigeria’s 63rd Independence Ceremony

By Temitope Mustapha, Abuja

0 1,053


President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has participated in Nigeria’s 63rd Independence Anniversary ceremony held in Abuja.

The President attended as the Special Guest of Honour at the display of the colourful parade of Guards of the Brigade.

The low-key event, which took place at the forecourt of the Presidential Villa, was President Tinubu’s first Independence celebration since his assumption of office on the 29th of May, 2023.

President Tinubu whose arrival at the ceremony was announced by the biggle appeared in white traditional attire with his green signature cap, he was further welcomed by the rendition of the National Anthem and afterward received the national salute before he proceeded to his seat.

President Tinubu subsequently performed the task of signing the anniversary register, releasing anniversary pigeons, and cutting the anniversary cake.

The event also witnessed a four-colour parade which symbolizes a rollback to the October 1, 1960 change of guards, it also reflected the significance and uniqueness of the independence celebration. The ceremony also featured the Guards Brigade Silent Drill and Independent Anniversary parade.


Minister of Defence, Badaru Abubakar and the Minister of State for Defence, Dr Bello Muhammed Matawalle, the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Kayode Ariwoola, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume and the Vice President, Kashim Shettima all took their turns to receive national salute on arrival at the forecourt.

The historic day was also celebrated with the fanfare of cultural troupes by major ethnic groups across Nigeria and a mass band display that appraised the essence of Nigeria’s unity was also on performance.

Among the dignitaries who attended the ceremony were; All Progressives Congress (APC) party chieftains, Former Chief of Army Staff, Yusuf Burutai, APC National Chairman, Abdullahi Ganduje, Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas.

Others were; the Service Chiefs, top government functionaries, and members of the diplomatic corps.‎



Mercy Chukwudiebere

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.