Senate confirms two Supreme Court Justices

Lawan Hamidu, Abuja

The Senate has confirmed the nominations of Justice Sidi Bage and Justice Paul Galinje as the Supreme Court Justices.

The confirmation of the duo followed the adoption of a report of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters on the screening of the justices for appointment.

Enriching legal system
Presenting the report, the Chairman of the committee, Senator David Umaru said that the committee “found both Bage and Galinje to have sound knowledge of the law and have contributed immensely to the development of the law and enriched the Nigerian legal system through their judgement and rulings as well as seminar presentation.’’

Umaru said that the committee was satisfied with their competence, experience, suitability, qualifications and integrity, hence the recommendation for the confirmation of their nominations by the Senate.

Federal Capital Character reflection
Umaru added that the composition of the Supreme Court in terms of geo-political zones and upon confirmation of Justices Bage and Galinje, was a fair reflection of the federal character principle as enshrined in Section 14 (3) of the 1999 Constitution.

The confirmation of the two brings to 17 the number of Supreme Court Justices with each of the six geo-political zones having three justices except South-South with two.

The Senate also confirmed the nominations of six commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Chairman of the Governing Board of the Nigeria Communications Commission, NCC and four others as commissioners in the Commission.

The new INEC commissioners are Professor Okechukwu Ibeanu (South-East); May Agbamuche-Mbu (South-South); Ahmed Mu’Azu (North-East); Mohammed Haruna (North-Central); Dr Ladipo Ogunmola (South-West); and Abubakar Nahuche (North-West), and Olabiyi Durojaiye as Chairman Board of NCC.

Mr. Igo Weli was also confirmed as a board member of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC). 
Other confirmed commissioners for NCC include; Sunday Dare (Executive Commissioner); Clement Omeiza Baiye (Non-Executive Commissioner); Okoi ObonoObla (Non-Executive Commissioner); and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (Non-Executive Commissioner).

However two of President Buhari’s nominees; Aliyu Abubakar (Stakeholders Management) and Pastor Ezekiel Yissa (Non-Executive Commissioner), were not confirmed.


Mercy Chukwudiebere