Super Eagles awaits World Cup fate

The Super Eagles of Nigeria have been drawn in pot three of the final phase of qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals in Russia.

Four other countries have also been housed in pot three alongside Nigeria, they include Congo Brazzaville, Morocco, Mali and South Africa.

These countries cannot be grouped alongside Nigeria when the final draw is held.

Nigeria’s Super Eagles will be paired with three other teams in one of five four-team groups as top African nations vie for five qualifications spots for the 2018 World Cup finals in Russia.

The third and final (CAF) round of qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia will commence in October 2016 and end in November 2017.

Pot one

  1. Algeria
  2. Ivory Coast
  3. Ghana
  4. Senegal
  5. Egypt

Pot two

  1. Tunisia
  2. Cape Verde
  3. DR Congo
  4. Guinea
  5. Cameroon

Pot three

  1. Congo Brazzaville
  2. Nigeria
  3. Morocco
  4. Mali
  5. South Africa

Pot four

  1. Uganda
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Zambia
  4. Gabon
  5. Libya


Aisha JM