Supreme Court Swears In 11 Justices

By Charles Ogba, Abuja



Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola has administered the oath of office to 11 new Justices of the Supreme Court, bringing Nigeria’s total number of Supreme Court Justices to 21, meeting the statutory requirement.

During the swearing-in ceremony, Justice Ariwoola advised the newly appointed justices of the Supreme Court to uphold the rule of law and remain impartial in their decisions.

The CJN said; “As new Justices of this Honourable Court, Your Lordships should note that you are coming on board at the time when our rank had been grossly depleted to an all-time low of 10 Justices for a number of reasons; mainly retirements and deaths. We heartily welcome Your Lordships to our fold and wish you an eventful and pleasurable sojourn in the Apex Court of our dear country.” 

Your Lordships are all seasoned judicial officers transiting from the Court of Appeal; and have, accordingly, established some remarkable acquaintances with judicial oath and rules guiding the conduct of judicial officers, especially at the appellate level. Your moral uprightness, integrity and respect for the Constitution and other extant laws in operation, must be unwavering and unassailable,” he said.

Justice Ariwoola also urged them not to allow their personal ambition or any extraneous considerations becloud their sense of judgment.

Your interactions with people of unenviable inclinations and pedigree, if any, must be halted forthwith. Let your conscience guide and filter every thought that traverses your mind from this moment,” he said.

The CJN said; “I want to assure you that more opportunities like this will come your way, especially as you now assume duties in the final Court of the land, where appellants’ expectations are often very high and infectious. There is no way you can please everyone, especially litigants. That is the reality! However, I am making it abundantly clear to your Lordships that the easiest way to fall in life is by trying to please everyone. The only deity you should fear is the Almighty God. Once your judgment is in line with what God expects from you and is also in accordance with the Constitution, you should consider yourself the happiest and freest person on earth. Apart from that, everything else you hear around you is mere noise or baseless agitation, which will naturally fade away when the chips are down.”

Furthermore, he encouraged them to exhibit unwavering commitment and diligence in the discharge of their duties while maintaining the integrity of the judiciary.

The 11 Supreme Court Justices are  Haruna Tsammani (North East); Moore Adumein (South-South); Jummai Sankey (North Central); Chidiebere Uwa (South East); and Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South East) for the apex court bench.

Others are Obande Ogbuinya (South East); Stephen Adah (North Central); Habeeb Abiru (South-West); Jamilu Tukur (North West); Abubakar Umar (North West); and Mohammed Idris (North-Central).



Mercy Chukwudiebere