Ten Swimmers for Dakar Championship

Anulika Menanya

Ten swimmers have been picked to represent Nigeria for the forth coming CANA zone two swimming competition among West African countries.

The competition is to hold on May 27th in Dakar, Senegal.

They were picked from a two day time trials held at the swimming pool complex of Teslim Balogun stadium, Surulere, Lagos over the weekend.

The men are Ifeakachukwu Nmor from Delta state, Kingsley Forcados (Delta), Christian Obomanu (Edo) and Duke Eniyekenemi (Delta).

Others are Yellow Yeiye of Nigeria Police, and Samson Opuakpo (Delta) .
The Women are Yinlayefa Uwaji from Delta state, Akiyefa Timipanu -Ere also of Delta, Faith Edorodion (Edo) and Racheal Tonjor (Nigeria Civil Defence Corps).
The swimmers took part in 100m backstroke (men & women); 100m individual medley ( men & women); 100m butterfly (men &women), 200m breaststroke men & women , 50m freestyle (men &women ) and 100m freestyle (men &women).

Swimmers from about six states, Nigeria police, Nigeria Civil Defence Corps and Ikorodu Local Government took part in the team time trials.

The selected swimmers are expected back to Lagos for a three day intensive training next week before jetting out of Lagos to Senegal.

Confidence O.