Thousands of PDP, ADC, AP members defect to APC in Oyo State

Olubunmi Osoteku, Ibadan

0 373

Thousands of members of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Accord Party (AP) and the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State have switched their allegiances to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The event tagged: ‘the Mega Defection Rally’ took place at the Oyo State APC secretariat, Oke-Ado, Ibadan, the state capital.

The leaders of the defectors included Engr Remi Oseni – 2019 ADC gubernatorial aspirant, a three-term serving member of the House of Representatives and Ex-Chairman, Ibarapa Central LG, Dr Muraina Ajibola; Asiwaju (Barr.) Yemi Aderibigbe, former Executive Chairman, Akinyele LGA and former Special Adviser to Governors Seyi Makinde and Abiola Ajimobi; Hon. Ademola Omotoso – former Executive Chairman of Ibadan North LGA and Hon Akeem Okedina – former Chairman of Ido LGA.

Others are Chief Michael Adegbite – former State Chairman, PDP and former Executive Chairman of Kajola LGA; Hon. Wasiu Emiola – former State Secretary Oyo PDP and former member, Oyo SUBEB; Hon. Soji Olaojo – former Educational Secretary and former State Chairman of NNPP; Sir Adigun Olawuwo – former Oyo Senatorial Chairman of PDP; Hon. Hussein Akinlabi – 2019 ADC House of Rep candidate for Ibarapa Central/North; Alhaji Surakat Busari – former leader of PDP in Akinyele LGA and Hon Femi Ajayi Oye – former leader of PDP in Lagelu LGA.

Other parties’ top notchers included Chief Olawuwo Adigun – former Vice-Chairman (South) PDP Oyo State; Hon. Sabitu Moliki, former state Ex-Officio of PDP; Asiwaju Adekola Adeoye – former State Youth Leader of both PDP and ADC; Hon. Gbenga Coker – former State Organising Secretary of Accord Party and Hon. Lukman Adeoye – former Secretary of PDP in Ibarapa East LGA and former State Youth Leader of ADC.

Also, Hon. Bola Akinyemi – former State Administrative Secretary, Accord Party and former member of Governing Council, The Polytechnic Ibadan; Hon Suleiman Awujoola – former National Southwest Chairman, Atiku Abubakar organisation; and Mrs Hannah Olufunke Babarinde – former Federal Constituency Women Leader of PDP, Ibarapa North/Central.

Other defected PDP leaders from Ibarapa Central LGA were Hon. Muraina comes from included Alhaji Abiola Azeez – PDP Chairman for Ibarapa Central; Mrs Toyin Afolabi – Women Leader PDP Ibarapa Central and Hon. Lukmon Uthmon – former PDP State Assistant Secretary.

The list of other former PDP leaders from the council area that also defected to APC is Alhaji Rasaq Olatunde Garai, Chief Segun Adeleye, Chief Isiaka Oladoja, Hon. Olakunle Sunmonu, Mrs Nike Adegoke, Mr Bayo Okedokun, Alhaji Najeem Afolabi, Mr Akanni Oyadiran, Mr Alani Oguntade, Mrs Funmilayo Olabiyi, Pastor Gbadebo, and among others.

Speaking at the occasion, the Senator representing Oyo Central, Teslim Folarin, sounded a warning to the Park Management System Disciplinary Committee chairman in the state, Alhaji Mukaila Lamidi, to desist from attacking members of the APC or face the consequences.

Folarin said he and others would not fold their hands and allow Auxiliary and others to turn the state into a place where insecurities reign supreme.


E/Suzan O.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.