Togolese Delegate To ECOWAS Parliament Sworn In


By Adoba Echono, Kano


The Togolese delegation to the Parliament of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have been sworn in.

The members of the Togolese delegation to the Community Parliament Hon. Members of Parliament are Memounatou Ibrahima, Senou Soklingbe and Patrick Kodjovi Senam Bolouvi, were sworn in before the ECOWAS Parliament in plenary at the 2024 Second Extraordinary Session, on Thursday 23 May 2024 in Kano, Nigeria, North West Nigeria .

It is expected that the new Speaker would emerge among them as the position has been allotted based on the rotational system of the parliament for the Speakership.

Statements emerging from the floor of the Parliament showed that a female parliamentarian, Memounatou Ibrahima, will emerged as the speaker.


Ibrahima was the third Deputy Speaker in the fifth Legislature of ECOWAS Parliament; she has been in the ECOWAS Parliament since 2021.


She is primed to take up the baton from the Nigerian leader of delegation, Senator Barau Jubrin who was elected the First Deputy Speaker at the inauguration of the Sixth Legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament on April 4th 2024, had to act as the Speaker to avoid creating vacuum of leadership at the Community Parliament.


During the inauguration of the Sixth Legislature of the ECOWAS on April 4th 2024, the delegation of the Republic of Togo was not present because they had not conducted election to enable the country send their representatives to the Community Parliament.


Jide Ibitoye.

Comments are closed.