Victor Osimhen Bags Four Nominations In Nigeria Pitch Awards

By Anulika Menanya, Lagos


Africa’s best player, Victor Osimhen, has bagged four nominations at the 10th Nigerian Pitch Awards.

The list of nominees was unveiled at a press conference held in Ikeja, Lagos on Thursday, 29 February, 2024.

CAF footballer of the year, Osimhen, who led Napoli to their first Italian title in 33 years, was named in three categories including Stiker of the year where he will battle Robert Mizo of Nigeria Professional Football League side, Bayelsa United and Bayern Leverkusen’s Victor Boniface.

Osimhen will also go head to head against Boniface in the King of Pitch Awards category which also has Emeka Obioma of Enyimba FC.

The 25 year old was also nominated for the Sportsmanship Award alongside NPFL board chairman, Gbenga Elegbeleye and Kunle Shoname, Chairman of Remo Stars FC.

He was also named in the Sam Okwaraji Award for individuals who have demonstrated exceptional commitment and patriotism while supporting, sponsoring, playing for, or serving the National Teams.

Osimhen battles Super Eagles Captain, Ahmed Musa and Soname for the award.

The nomination comes less than 24 hours after Osimhen bagged a hat trick in a 6-1 rout of Sassuolo in the Serie A, days after his return from the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations where he helped Nigeria finish as runners-up.

Meanwhile, Oshoala, Africa’s best female footballer, was instrumental as Barcelona won the UEFA Women’s Champions League twice in 2021 and 2023, four league titles, three Spanish Super Cups, and the Copa de la Reina three times.

She was nominated in the Queen of the Pitch alongside, Athletico Madrid’s Rasheedat Ajibade and Africa’s best goalkeeper, Nnadozie of Paris FC.

Super Falcons were nominated in the Team of the Year category for their exploits at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, against NPFL sides, Enyimba of Aba and Remo Stars of Ibadan.

Other categories are:

Goalkeeper Of The Year 

Kayode Bankole Remo Stars

Amas Obasogie  Bendel Insurance

Ojo Olorunleke  Enyimba FC

Defender Of The Year 

Calvin Bassey  Fulham FC

Ola Aina  Nottingham Forest FC

Bright Osayi-Samuel  Fenerbahçe SK

Midfielder Of The Year 

Al Hassan Yusuf  Royal Antwerp FC

Wilfred Ndidi  Leicester City FC

Alex Iwobi  Fulham FC

Team Of The Year 

Super Falcons


Remo Stars

Coach Of The Year

Daniel Ogunmodede  Remo Stars

Finidi George  Enyimba FC

Randy Waldrum  Super Falcons

State With The Best Grassroots Football Development Programme 




Football Pitch Of The Year 

Mobolaji Johnson Sports Arena  Onikan, Lagos State Remo Stars Stadium  Remo, Ogun StateGodswill Akpabio Int’l Stadium  Uyo, Akwa Ibom State

Football Friendly Governor Of The Year 

His Excellency, Umo Eno  Akwa Ibom State His Excellency, Babajide Sanwo-Olu Lagos State His Excellency, Godwin Obaseki  Edo State

Corporate Sponsor Of Football Award 

Bet9ja Sport Betting GTI Financial  Financial Services MTN Nigeria  Telecom

Football Journalist Of The Year – Print 

Christian Okparah  The Guardian Newspapers

Charles Diya  New Telegraph Newspapers

Johnny Edward  Punch Newspapers

Football Journalist Of The Year – TV 

Miyen Akiri  TVC

Mozez Praiz  Supersport

Cecilia Omorogbe  Channels TV

Football Journalist Of The Year – Radio 

Olawale Adigun Mainland FM

Yinka Oyedele  Brilla 88.9 FM

Anthony Bekederemo  Brila 88.9 FM

Football Journalist Of The Year – Online 

Samuel Ahmadu  Savid News

Tobi Adepoju  Oganla Media

Kunle Solaja