

STATEMENT ON THE RESTRUCTURING OF MINISTRIES AND MINISTERIAL PORTFOLIOS

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu GCFR has approved the immediate implementation of eight far-reaching actions to reinvigorate the Administration's capacity for optimal efficiency pursuant of his commitment to deliver on his promises to Nigerians.

The eight actions approved by Mr. President include:

- 1. The renaming of the Ministry of Nigeria Delta Development to Ministry of Regional Development to oversee the activities of all the Regional Development Commissions. The Regional Development Commissions to be under the supervision of the new Ministry are; the Niger Delta Development Commission, the South East Development Commission, the North East Development and the North West Development Commission.
- The immediate winding up of the Ministry of Sports Development and the transfer of its functions to the National Sports Commission in order to develop a vibrant sports economy;

- The merger of the Federal Ministry of Tourism and the Federal Ministry of Arts and Culture to become Federal Ministry of Art, Culture, Tourism and the Creative Economy;
- 4. The re-assignment of ten (10) ministers to new ministerial portfolios;
- 5. The discharge of five (5) Ministers.
- 6. The nomination of seven (7) new ministers for onward transmission to Senate for confirmation;
- 7. The appointment of Shehu Dikko as Chairman of the National Sports Commission;
- The appointment of Sunday Akin Dare as Special Adviser to the President on Public Communication and Orientation working from the Ministry of Information and National Orientation

LIST OF MINISTERS REASSIGNED TO NEW PORTFOLIOS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

S/N	Name of Minister	Current Designation of Minister	New Designation of Minister
1.	Hon Dr. Yusuf Tanko Sununu	Minister of State, Education	Minister of State Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Reduction
2.	Dr. Morufu Olatunji Alausa	Minister State, Health	Minister of Education
3.	Barr. Bello Muhammad Goronyo	Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation	Minister of State Works
4.	Hon. Abubakar Eshiokpekha Momoh	Minister of Niger Delta Development	Minister of Regional Development

S/N	Name of Minister	Current Designation of Minister	New Designation of Minister
5.	Uba Maigari Ahmadu	Minister of State Steel Development	Minister of State Regional Development
6.	Dr. Doris Uzoka-Anite	Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment	Minister of State Finance
7.	Sen. John Owan Enoh	Minister of Sports Development	Minister of State Trade and Investment [Industry]
8.	Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim	Minister of State, Police Affairs	Minister of Women Affairs
9.	Ayodele Olawande	Minister of State for Youth Development	Minister for Youth Development
10.	Dr. Salako Iziaq Adekunle Adeboye	Minister of State, Environment	Minister of State, Health

MINISTERS TO BE DISCHARGED ARE AS FOLLOWS:

S/N	Name of Minister	Designation of Minister
1.	Barr. Uju-Ken Ohanenye	Minister of Women Affairs
2.	Lola Ade-John	Minister of Tourism
3.	Prof Tahir Mamman SAN OON	Minister of Education
4.	Abdullahi Muhammad Gwarzo	Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development
5.	Dr. Jamila Bio Ibrahim	Minister of Youth Development

LIST OF NEW MINISTERS APPOINTED AND PORTFOLIOS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

S/N	Name of Minister	Designation of	Ministry
		Minister	
1.	Dr Nentawe Yilwatda	Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Reduction	Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Reduction

S/N	Name of Minister	Designation of Minister	Ministry
2.	Muhammadu Maigari Dingyadi	Minister of Labour & Employment	Federal Ministry of Labour & Employment
3.	Bianca Odinaka Odumegu-Ojukwu	Minister of State Foreign Affairs	Ministry of Foreign Affairs
4.	Dr Jumoke Oduwole	Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment (Trade and Investment)	Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment
5.	Idi Mukhtar Maiha	Ministry of Livestock Development	Federal Ministry of Livestock Development
6.	Rt. Hon. Yusuf Abdullahi Ata	Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development	Federal Ministry of Housing and Urban Development
7.	Suwaiba Said Ahmad PhD	Minister of State Education	Federal Ministry of Education

The President thanked the outgoing members of the Federal Executive Council for their service to the nation while wishing them the best in their future endeavours.

He then charged the newly appointed ministers as well as their reassigned colleagues to see their appointment as a call to serve the nation. He added that all appointees must understand the administration's eagerness and determination to set Nigeria on the path to irreversible growth and invest the best of their abilities into the actualisation of the government's priorities.

The Presidency

Federal Republic of Nigeria

October 2024