Ebonyi women sue for peace, unity

Moses Nwite, Abakaliki

0 580

The women of Ebonyi State under the auspices of Umuada Ebonyi have preached peace, love and harmony in all the families across the State and beyond.

The Founder of an International Non-Governmental Organization NGO popularly known as Egobekee foundation for better living, Chief Mrs Nwakaego Rosemary Emmanuel made the call while addressing Journalists after their 2021 end of August meeting of Umuada Ebonyi in Abakaliki the State Capital.

Mrs. Nwakaego said the August meeting these days is a forum where women gather to discuss the welfare of women and children and for the betterment of present society.

Nwakaego encouraged the prospective mothers to be hardworking. “Our Young girls should be up and doing believing that tomorrow holds a lot for them. No matter your background, you must work very hard to work out your salvation”

“The narrative of August meeting has changed from what it used to be known before. These days, we are using it to reach out to our women who are oppressed, less privileged, aged and to teach our women and girls how to contribute to the society to be a better place for all”

“Young girls entering into marriage should have it in their minds that they are going to support their husbands to build strong and better families, society and nations for all mankind, Nwakaego said.

Voters Card
Egobekee advised women to go to their various Electoral wards to get registered as well collect their Permanent Voters Cards as that’s the only power women have to elect good leaders who will run an all-inclusive Government.

Also, the Founder and the President of Umuada Ebonyi, Mrs. Charity Chukwuemeka thanked all Ebonyi Women both at home and in the diaspora for coming to support the meeting.

She encouraged the women to be persistent and courageous in all their activities to ensure a better Ebonyi State and Nigeria at large.

Mrs. Charity said “we decided to give awards to some notable persons to encourage them to do more in the society. The awardees are Dr. Ifeanyi Odii, Chief Nwakaego Rosemary Emmanuel, Professor Adaeze Nwuzor, Maurice Mbam, Mr. Silas Onu, Senator Ama Nnachi, Senator Obinna Ogba Dr. Augustine Nwazunku among others”.

She said the award is a mark of honour to them.