Governor inaugurates LOC for National Council on Environment meeting

0 348

Gov. Dikko Radda of Katsina State, has set-up an 11-member Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the meeting of the National Council on Environment to be held in Katsina state.

The committee was inaugurated in Katsina on Friday by the Secretary to the Government of the State (SGS), Alhaji Abdullahi Faskari, on behalf of the governor.

Faskari said that the 17th National Council meeting on the Environment was scheduled to take place between Dec. 11, 2023 and 16.

He added the LOC was to liaise with the main organising committee to determine the number of delegates and other participants coming to Katsina for the meeting.

According to him, the committee is to also source and provide befitting accomodation and transport facilities to the delegates as well as the participants of the meeting.

The secretary to the state government also said that other terms of reference of the committee include the provision of adequate publicity and security for the meeting.

According to Faskari, the state’s Commissioner for Environment, Alhaji Musa Adamu-Funtua will serve as the Chairman of the LOC committee.

The Permanent Secretary, Political and Common Services, Alhaji Abubakar Gege, is the Vice Chairman of the committee.

He added, “The Permanent Secretaries from Ministries of Environment and Agriculture and Livestock Development, Alhaji Muntari Kado and Alhaji Muhammed Rabi’u, respectively, will serve as members.

“Also to serve as members of the committee are Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health (Tertiary Institution), Hajia Safiya Yamel, and also that of Works, Housing and Transport, Alhaji Mannir Talba.

“Others include Permanent Secretary, Cabinet and Security, SGS Office, Alhaji Salisu Abdu, Executive Director, State Environmental Protection Agency (SEPA), Alhaji Kabir Amoga and Director Protocol, Alhaji Isa Duwan.

“And also Director, Admin and Supply (DAS), Office of the Head of Civil Service of the State, Alhaji Lawal Abdullahi while Nura Ibrahim from the SGS Office would serve as the Secretary of the Committee.”

NAN / Foluke Ibitomi