House of Reps Confirms Service Chiefs 

 By Gloria Essien, Abuja 

0 308


The House of Representatives has confirmed the appointment of the service chiefs following an adoption of the report of its Ad-hoc committee that screened the military top chiefs.


The Chairman of the Ad-hoc Committee, Hon Babajimi Benson submitted the report and it was adopted.


The service chiefs confirmed at the Committee of the Whole are Maj. Gen. Christopher Musa (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj. Gen. Abiodun Lagbaja (Chief of Army Staff), Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla (Chief of Naval Staff), and Air Vice Marshall Hassan Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff.


It would be recalled that the House of Representatives had on Monday, 17 July 2023 screened all the nominees.


The House had before the screening earlier,  last week set up an Ad-hoc committee to screen the  Service Chiefs’ nominees for onward confirmation.


It would be recalled that President Ahmed Bola Tinubu had in the last two weeks written the House of Representatives seeking confirmation of the Service Chief nominees.


The president’s request is in compliance with the provisions of Section 18(1) of the Armed Forces Act. Cap A20 Laws the Federation of Nigeria.


Dominica Nwabufo