Lagos State Wins CBN Governor’s Cup

0 682

The football club of the Lagos State branch of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Football Cub emerged winners of the 40th edition of the CBN Governor’s Cup after beating the Abuja branch 4-2 on penalties after the match ended 1-1 at the Lekan Salami Sports Complex, Adamasingba, in Ibadan, Oyo State.

It was Lagos CBN FC’s 10th CBN Governor’s Cup title. The competition began in 1981.

The Lagos CBN FC was rewarded with N800, 000 in addition to being presented with a trophy and gold medal. The runners-up, Abuja CBN FC, got N600, 000, while CBN Dutse FC got N400, 000 and medals as second runner-up. CBN Dutse FC also emerged the Most Disciplined Team of the championship.

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN)

Aliyu Bello of Abuja FC was voted the most valuable player of the competition after he emerged as the highest goal scorer in the competition with eight goals.

Speaking at the occasion, the CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele, who was represented by the Director, Legal Service Department, Kofo Alada Salam, said: “The significance of the competition reflected in the bank’s corporate social responsibility and derived from its sponsorship of the all financial institutions football competition, remains a testament to the bank’s contributions toward the development of sports in the country.”

“The CBN teams that participated in this nationwide competition are usually selected from the participating teams in the Governor’s Cup Football Competition. We have also been in the forefront of supporting and developing sports through our sponsorship of other events, which include the CBN Lawn Tennis Open and CBN Golf tournaments.”

“Nevertheless, as in every game, there is always a winner and a second best, and in this case, as you all witness CBN Lagos FC has again won the trophy for the 10th time, while Abuja is second,” Emefiele said.

Emefiele, however, applauded the Oyo State government under the leadership of Governor Seyi Makinde for supporting the final of the competition.

Dignitaries at the final were some top officials of the bank, as well as former internationals that included Mutiu Adepoju, Ike Sorunmu and others.


Chidi Nwoke/The Guardian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *