Osun State Governor presents four Commissioners’ names for reappointment

0 452

Osun State Governor, Mr. Adegboyega Oyetola, has sent the names of four former Commissioner to the House of Assembly for reappointment after losing bids to pick the All Progressives Congress (APC’s) National Assembly tickets.

The Governor also forwarded the names of two new nominees for appointment to the cabinet, Hon. Nike Omoworare and Bakare Akande Aleem.

Names of those forwarded for reappointment include:

Lateefat Giwa, who failed to pick the Osun West Senatorial District ticket, Dr. Bode Olaonipekun (contested Ila federal constituency House of Representatives ticket), Olubukola Olaboopo (Ifelodun/Boripe/Odo-Otin house of representatives) Solagbade Oladepo (Osogbo/Olorunda/Orolu/Irepodun house of representatives).

The letter forwarded by the Governor to the Speaker, Hon. Timothy Owoeye read at plenary seating, stating, “In line with the provisions of Section 192 (2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as Amended. I hereby present the under-listed nominees for consideration and confirmation by the House of Assembly into the Position of Commissioners/Special Advisers in the Osun State to fill the vacant positions in the State Executive Council.”

Also, the House of Assembly granted the request of the Governor seeking reconfirmation and extension of tenure for the Caretaker Management Committee in the Local Government Councils and Local Council Development Areas.

Owoeye, while reading the letter, held that the request is in tandem with Section 3(A)(i) (ii) (III) of the State of Osun Local Government Administration and Amendment 7 Law (2021).

The request letter read in part, “This is to bring to your notice that the 6 months term of the Caretaker Management Committee in the Local Government Councils, Local Council Development Areas, will expire on July 12, 2022.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *