AFCON 2021: Eight teams qualify for round of 16

0 621

Eight countries have qualified for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON, round of 16.

Senegal, Guinea, Morocco and Gabon became the latest countries to book their place in the 2021 AFCON last-16 on Tuesday.

Senegal played a 0-0 draw with Malawi to top Group B with five points, while Guinea finished in the second position with four points after losing 2-1 against Zimbabwe.

Morocco finished on top of Group C with seven points, while Gabon finished in the second position with five points.

The other four countries that have since booked their place in the AFCON round of 16 are Cameroon, Morocco, Nigeria and Burkina Faso.

Cameroon was the first country to qualify for the AFCON round of 16 after wins over Burkina Faso and Ethiopia.

Morocco was the second nation to qualify for the last-16 after two victories over Ghana and Comoros.

Nigeria, on the other hand, qualified for the AFCON last-16 at the weekend after beating Sudan 3-1.

The Super Eagles had defeated Egypt 1-0 last Tuesday.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.