Journalists Union to honour Nigerian Media icons

0 463

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) is to honour a few media personalities in the maiden edition of its “Milestone Recognition of Media Icons, initiative.

According to the NUJ National Secretariat, the initiative is being organised in conjunction with the Lagos State Council of NUJ, which targets media owners and some seasoned journalists who have distinguished themselves in the industry.

Media professionals listed include Prince Sam Amuka-Pemu, Publisher, Vanguard Newspapers, Aremo Olusegun Osoba, former Governor of Ogun State; Nduka Obaigbena, Publisher/Chairman, ThisDay Newspapers and Arise TV; Raymond Dokpesi, Chairman Emeritus, Daar Communication; John Momoh, Chief Executive Officer, Channels Media Group; Kabir Yusuf, Chairman, Trust Media Ltd; Orji Uzor Kalu, Publisher, The Sun Newspapers, among others.

Chairman of the Organising Committee for the event, Gbenga Onayiga, said that the media personalities are to be honoured for their contributions to the development of journalism and the empowerment of media professionals in the country.

“Having created and sustained employment for journalists over the years, our union has deemed it fit to encourage the recipients and other media professionals and entrepreneurs to invest in the industry,” Onayiga explained.

Other journalists and media entrepreneurs for recognition include the Kano State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, who was also a former President of NUJ, Mohammed Garba; the Chief Executive Officer, Independent Communication Network Limited, Bayo Onanuga;  Chairman, Editorial Board of Penpushing and former Chairman,Lagos NUJ, Mrs Funke Fadugba; former Managing Director of Champion Newspapers, Emma Agu and Mohammed Idris Malagi, Publisher, Blueprint Newspapers.

The Inspector General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba will also be honoured for his strides in curbing rights violations since assuming office.

Mr Buki Ponle, Managing Director of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Mrs Yemi Kolapo, Publisher/Managing Director, The Point Newspapers & Director General of Governor Yahaya Bello(GYB) Media Organisation as well as Mr John Ajayi, Publisher of Marketing Edge Magazine are also shortlisted for the award.

The Milestone Recognition of Media Icons initiative is designed to encourage top professionals to sustain the tempo and prop up the budding ones not to be discouraged by the current economic and professional challenges.

The event scheduled for December 8, 2022, in Lagos will have the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, as the Chief Host/Guest Speaker.

Governor Sanwo-Olu, who will speak on “The Role of the Media in the 2023 General Election, will also be honoured.






Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.