Union Of Journalists To Honour Media Icons

By Awosanya Olayide

0 398

Nigeria Union of Journalists NUJ is set to host the maiden edition of Milestone Recognition of Media Icons at Muson Centre, Lagos.

The Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu who is the Chief Host and Guest Speaker will speak on “The Role of the Media in the 2023 General Elections.”, while veteran Journalist and former Governor of Ogun State, Aremo Olusegun Osoba will be the Chairman at the event.

According to the Chairman of the Organising Committee, Gbenga Onayiga, the event which would be aired live on African Independent Television (AIT) would also have in attendance who-is-who in Nigeria’s media industry.

The NUJ Milestone Honour is targeted at media owners and seasoned journalists who have distinguished themselves in the industry.

The event which is billed for Thursday, December 8, 2022, by 5.30 pm, and will have media gurus like Prince Sam Amuka-Pemu, Publisher, Vanguard Newspapers; High Chief Aleogho Raymond Dokpesi, Chairman Emeritus, Daar Communications Plc; Chief Nduka Obaigbena, Publisher/Chairman, ThisDay Newspapers and Arise Television as those to be honoured.

Others are Dr John Momoh, Chairman/Chief Executive Officer, Channels Media Group; Mallam Kabir Yusuf, Chairman, Trust Media Limited and Dr Orji Uzor Kalu, Founder, The Sun Newspapers.

Other seasoned journalists and media entrepreneurs penciled down for recognition include the Kano State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, who was also a former President of NUJ, Mallam Muhammad Garba; the Chief Executive Officer, Independent Communication Network Limited, Mr Bayo Onanuga; Chairman, Editorial Board of Penpushing and former Chairman, Lagos NUJ, Mrs Funke Fadugba.

Also to be honoured are former Managing Director of Champion Newspapers, Mr.Emma Agu; Alhaji Mohammed Idris Malagi, Publisher, Blueprint Newspapers; the Inspector General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba and Managing Director of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Mr Buki Ponle.

Similarly, Mrs Yemi Kolapo, Publisher/Managing Director, The Point Newspapers & Director General of Governor Yahaya Bello (GYB) Media Organisation as well as Mr John Ajayi, Publisher, of Marketing Edge Magazine are also listed for honours.

The Milestone Recognition of Media Icons initiative is designed to encourage top professionals to sustain the tempo and prop up the budding ones so as not to be discouraged by the current economic and professional challenges in the media industry.





Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.