FCT 2022 Election: AMAC APC Chairmanship candidate emerges

Hudu Yakubu, Abuja 

0 5,570

Suleiman Alhassan Gwagwa has emerged the All Progressives Congress APC, Chairmanship candidate in Abuja Municipal Area Council AMAC, of the Nigerian Federal Capital Territory, FCT, for the forthcoming February 2022 elections.

The Chairman of the electoral committee, Mr Buhari Yusuf said Gwagwa scored 110 votes to defeat other eight aspirants in the election.

Yusuf declared him winner of the primary and said “Suleiman Gwagwa polled 110 votes to beat his closet rival, Mr Murtala Usman Karshi who polled 104 votes, followed by Isyaku Tanko Yamawo who came third with 76 votes.” 

The Chairman who described the primary election as free, fair and credible, added that “based on the party’s constitution, Suleiman Alhassan Gwagwa having polled the highest number of votes is hereby declared  the winner and stand as the party’s candidate for the AMAC Chairmanship seat in the forthcoming elections.”

Gwagwa commended all delegates for the support and expressed optimism that APC would emerge winner in next year’s Chairmanship election in AMAC.

He maintained that repositioning the council required the support of all party members and aspirants and called on all the aspirants who contested in the primary to join hands with him to ensure victory of the party next year February when the election would be conducted.

Gwagwa also enjoined party loyalists and supporters to remain steadfast and campaign vigorously for the party’s victory and urged them to shun all forms of violence before, during or after the election.

Security agencies, state officials of the party and representatives of INEC observed the election.

The APC chairmanship candidate will contest with his close rival of the People’s Democratic Party PDP, Mr Christopher Zaka and candidates from the other political parties who are also in the race.


Nneka Ukachukwu

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.