Labour Party Wins Abia Central Senatorial Seat

By Mercy Chukwudiebere, Umuahia

0 522

Labour Party Candidate, LP, Mr Darlington Nwokocha has been declared the winner of the February 25th Election for Abia Central Senatorial District.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC Returning Officer, Professor Herbert Udo announced the result, on Monday in Umuahia, the State capital.

Nwokocha polled 92,116 votes to defeat Retired Col. Augustine Akobundu of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP came second with 41,447 votes, while Chief Samuel Onuigbo of the All Progressives Congress, APC, had 7,997 votes.

Chukwumere Wachukwu of the Young Progressives Party, YPP, got 7, 395 votes, while Mr Ahandi Nweke of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, scored 4,637 votes.

Professor Udo also said that “Mr John Godson of African Democratic Congress, ADC got 1,980 votes, Mr Patrick Nwosu of Social Democratic Party, SDP scored 1,030 votes, while Mr Kenry Ibekwe of National Rescue Movement, NRM, polled 587 votes.”

Others, including Mr Aiyelabegan Abdul of New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP, got 541 votes and Mr Ubani Chukwu of Action Alliance, AA scored 187 votes.

Professor Udo said: “Darlington Nwokocha of the Labour Party having certified the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

The Abia Central Senatorial seat is being occupied by the former governor of the state, Theodore Orji of PDP.

Deprecated: File Theme without comments.php is deprecated since version 3.0.0 with no alternative available. Please include a comments.php template in your theme. in /home/vongov/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 6031

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *