D’Tigress Wins Third Consecutive FIBA Women’s AfroBasket Title

0 406

Nigeria’s senior women’s basketball team, D’Tigress won it’s third consecutive FIBA AfroBasket championship after beating Mali 70-59 at Palais Polyvalent des Sports in Yaounde, Cameroon.

Nigeria won the previous editions in 2017 and 2019.

D’Tigress won the first quarter 22-11 but the Malians bounced back to take the second quarter 13-9 to make it a tight contest at half-time.

In the third quarter, D’Tigress took over the contest in fine fashion as Captain Adaora Elonu, Victoria Macaulay and Ezinne Kalu combined well to win the quarter 28-14.

In the fourth quarter, coach Otis Hughley’s team sustained the momentum and with four minutes remaining, they enjoyed a 20-point lead over their opponents.

Mali put up a late fight to win the 4th quarter 21-11 and reduced the deficit to 11 points. However, the Nigerians had done enough to secure the historic victory.

Macaulay emerged Nigeria’s top performer with 15 points, 3 rebounds, 1 assist, 2 steals and 3 blocks.

Mariam Coulibally recorded 13 points and 9 rebounds to finish as top performer for Mali.

Captain Elonu and Kalu were made the tournament’s All-Star 5. The hardworking Elonu was also voted the MVP of the tournament.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by #NBBF (@nbbfonline)

This is Nigeria’s 5th Afrobasket title with previous successes in 2003 and 2005.

The D’Tigress have also qualified for the 2022 FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup in Australia.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by #DTigress (@dtigressng)


Chidi Nwoke/NBBF.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.