2023 HoA Election: INEC declares Kwara Speaker winner of Ilesha-Gwanara seat

By Hajia Sani and Tunde Akanbi, Ilorin

0 747

The Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC), has declared the All Progressives Congress, (APC), Engr. Yakubu Danladi-Salihu, as winner of the Ilesha-Gwanara state constituency after edging out his main contestant, Usman Abubakar of the People’s Democratic Party, (PDP).


Yakubu Danladi is the incumbent Speaker in the Kwara State House of Assembly.


Declaring the result at the collation center for the Ilesha/Gwanara constituency at the Gwanara Local Government Education Authority primary school, the Returning Officer, Dr. Adewale Rafiu explained that Danladi-Salihu polled 14,949 votes while his closest rival, Usman Abubakar got 2,072 votes.


“Yakubu Danladi-Salihu of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected”, Dr. Rafiu noted.


In his acceptance speech, Danladi-Salihu says he appreciates the people of the Ilesha-Gwanara constituency for their massive support that culminated into his victory.


The Lawmaker gave assurance that he would continue to prioritise their welfare.


“I wish to thank my constituents for the show of love and massive support that earned me this sweet victory at the poll. I will continue to appreciate and reciprocate this rare gesture with another superlative performance in office while prioritising people’s welfare”


“In specific terms, I’m extremely grateful to our Royal Fathers – HRH Alhaji Abdullah Idris; the Emir of Gwanara, HRH Professor Halidu Abubakar; the Emir of Ilesha Baruba and HRH Alhaji Idris Abubakar; the Emir of Okuta for their total support and genuine love at all times. I must also acknowledge the support of our clerics, APC stakeholders and supporters, as well as the people of Baruten Local Government generally. They have all been a wonderful set of people and by God’s Grace, I would not disappoint them all”, he assured.


With this result, Yakubu Danladi-Salihu has now won the seat of the Ilesha-Gwanara constituency for a second term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *