Nigeria Decides: Gubernatorial, State Assembly election results trickle in

0 7,925

The Gubernatorial and State Assembly election results have begun to trickle in across the 28 states where 837 candidates represented 18 political parties

It would be recalled that last Saturday’s gubernatorial elections were not held in 8 states; Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun and Ondo

READ ALSO: Rivers State: PDP sweeps 9 House of Assembly seats

In Osun State, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), declared Mr Babajide Kofoworola, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for Ede North State Constituency, winner of the Osun State House of Assembly election.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Popoola Bayode of the Obafemi Awolowo University, declared Kofoworola the winner having polled the highest number of votes.

READ ALSO: INEC uploads results in polling units across Benue state

Kofoworola polled 17,530 votes to defeat his closest rival in the All Progressive Congress (APC), Mr Abdulquadri Suleiman, who came second with a total vote of 9,010 while the Labour Party came third with 13 votes

INEC Returning Officer, Muritala Monsuru declared PDP’s Olayiwola Olalekan the winner of the Ede South State Constituency seat after collating the votes from all the wards after last Saturday’s poll in Osun.

READ ALSO: HoA Election: 26 year old Journalist wins Constituency seat in Kwara State

Olalekan polled 14,468 votes to defeat his APC rival, Mr Raji Sijuade, who got 5,204 votes.

Meanwhile, in Lagos State, the Electoral body declared Mr Samuel Apata of the APC as the winner of the State House of Assembly Somolu Constituency 2 seat

Prof. Issac Olasunkanmi Olusola, the Returning Officer for the Somolu Constituency 2, who declared the results at about 5.05 a.m. at INEC Collation Centre in Somolu, said that Mr Samuel Apata secured 21, 220 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mr Olusegun Fatai of the Labour Party (LP), who got 9, 664 votes.

READ ALSO2023 HoA Election: PDP wins Kaura Constituency in Kaduna state

According to him, 10 political parties contested for the Somolu House of Assembly Constituency 2 seat.

The returning officer said that the election was contested and the candidates recorded the following votes.

Shobamowo Gbolahan Joseph, Accord scored 33 votes, Koledoye Johnson Ade, AA scored 19 votes, Ishola Rauf Shina, AAC scored 23 votes, Olaiya Ibrahim, ADP scored 66 votes, Adewole Dare Jerry, BP scored 48 votes, Olusegun Fatai, LP scored 9, 664 votes, Baale Taoreed Oladipo, NNPP scored 44 votes, Ajayi Ayodeji Johnson, PDP scored 3, 925 votes and Salami Basiru, SDP scored 22 votes.

“I, Prof. Issac Olasunkanmi Olusola, hereby certify that I am the returning officer for the Somolu House of Assembly Constituency 2 election held on the 18th day of March, 2023 that the election was contested.”
He said that Apata, having scored the highest votes at the election, won the House of Assembly election for the Somolu Constituency 2.

READ ALSO: 2023 HoA Election: INEC declares Kwara Speaker winner of Ilesha-Gwanara seat

“Samuel Apata of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law, has scored the highest number of votes; he is hereby declared the winner and returned elected on 19th March, 2023,” Olusola said.

INEC also declared Mr Abiodun Orekoya of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the Lagos State House of Assembly Constituency 1 seat in Somolu.

Dr Waziri Adisa, the Returning Officer for Somolu Constituency 1, declared the results at about 4.50 a.m. at INEC Collation Centre in Somolu.

READ ALSO: APC female candidate returns elected in Ijumu constituency, Kogi State

He said that Orekoya secured 14, 256 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mr Adelana Adesegun-Adewale of the Labour Party, who got 4, 865 votes.

According to him, nine political parties contested for the  Somolu House of Assembly Constituency 1 seat.

The Returning Officer added that Shittu Adedola-Olukorede of PDP scored 1,078, Awofodu Oluwabor-Oluwaseye of AA, 62 votes, Ayodele Gbenga-Johnson of AAC, 4 votes, and Olaleye Ezekiel-Oyefemi of ADC, 70 votes.

Others are Adeniyi Kolade of ADP,  37 votes, Ezitonye Peace Uzoma of BP, 21 votes, Gabriel Temitope-Dosunmu of NNPP scored 24 votes, and Awodeji Abdul of SDP had 1 vote.

“Abiodun Orekoya of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Adisa added.

In another development, INEC postponed last Saturday’s Governorship and State House of Assembly elections in 10 polling units situated in Victoria Garden City (VGC).

INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner, Segun Agbaje, said this while speaking with journalists at the Estate.

According to him, corps members deployed as ad hoc staff on Saturday were unwilling to enter the VGC estate having claimed that they were held hostage during the 25 February presidential and National Assembly elections.

Mr Agbaje said the commission’s ad hoc staff set up voting materials in front of the estate on Saturday but the estate residents claimed that hoodlums might disrupt the process, so they did not feel secure and could not cast their votes outside the estate.

“We have eight polling units here with 6,024 registered voters and out of which 5,624 people have their PVCs,” he said, adding that two other polling units at the estate’s main gate were also affected. “Eight here (in the estate) and two outside

“After due consultation and further directive from the national headquarters (we resolved) that we should remobilise here tomorrow (Sunday) morning by 08:30 a.m. to conduct the elections.

“By 08:30 a.m. tomorrow (Sunday), we will reconvene here.”

While confirming that the chairman of the security committee of the estate had assured the commission of the safety of corps members and INEC staff and voters, Mr Agbaje said the last person in the queue by 2.30 p.m. will be allowed to vote on Sunday.

The Cross River State Returning Office, Prof. Teddy Adies, who is from the Federal University Otueke, asked if any Local Government Area was ready with their result and since none was ready, he postponed the collation to 5 p.m. on Sunday







Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.